All I Want For Sunday Is a Decent Run and other tales from Lake Merritt

SUNDAY, WHAT’S COOKING!!!???

Dude, Sunday in every way was determined to not have me get any fit on. Thanksgiving is really a four day long holiday for me which means that my lazy, grubbing, munchey ways roll ever so easily into Sunday. Despite this fine tradition of sloth, I woke up determined to make a run happen today. I did some shopping at the Whole Foodie and in true Thanksgiving fashion ordered that vegan chocolate doughnut in my running clothes.

After that little trip, I somehow managed to lounge the day away with Say Yes to The Dress and some Boys on The Side. Even my television choices were lazy, Interwebbies. Ok, I did try and pin some recipes.

bridget

I finally managed to head out the door after 4pm (yikes) to get my run on between the California sprinkles of rain. As I started up my good buddy Runkeeper, I patiently awaited my jams. Trust, on a day like this you NEED some Salt-N-Pepa to really help you out. However I slowly realized I somehow managed to delete all the musica off my phone (WHHATTT??), this made me consider turning back. I mean, I can’t possibly run without music??? Why??? Despite the loss of my precious musica, I forged on with this worthless run. I got my groove on when all of a sudden I get attacked by a leashed dog!!! I swear to God! This medium sized white furry little demon jumps up and bites my pants to get a nice little pull before I get away. Thankfully these were my $50 Gap Fit pants and not my cheap-o Target cotton pants. There was no skin broken. That little beast just got a nice stretch out of my gfast pants with some nasty drool. I have heard of runners experiencing dog attacks but never thought one would happen to me! F’ing mailman crazyness….or maillady..you get my drift. Anyways, after my dog battle I took a moment and thought ok, I’m giving Pandora 5 minutes to download otherwise I’m going home. This is all B.S.

SALT

Thankfully, Pandora loaded and I selected the Pop Christmas channel (sheer joy) and let go of all the baddy energy to make my Sunday Run Day happen. I can’t get enough of Ms. Carey, she truly saved this runner’s day.

Overcoming all obstacles with my own little 5k.
photo 4

In other news, I thought I shared these little victory photos from my sunny LA Turkey Trot. I’m pretty confident this will be the last race of 2014. I’m considering some late March half marathons which would mean I’d need to get back to training mode.
photo 1
photo 2
photo 3

I just put something in the crockpot on high with the hope that it will be done in two hours. Perhaps I’m kidding myself but I’m still feeling lazy and this seemed like a reasonable plan. I will let you know how it turns out.

Sigh, I haven’t worked since Tuesday and it’s been WONDERFUL!!!! Oh so lovely, I cannot believe I have to return to the real world tomorrow. Why can I not be on vacation forever! Why! I still haven’t even made it to the theater to see Mockingjay. True Story.

Anyways, these are a few of the 2015 races that I’m considering and this seems as good as time as any to list them out. You never know though…until I end up on active with my debit card in hand, nothing is official.

Livermore Half Marathon

I really like Brazen Racing. Their races are super organized, offer some cool medals, have plenty of water stops, and yummy snacks post race.

BAY BREEZE 10K – FEB 14TH, SAN LEANDRO, CA

HELLYER HALF MARATHON – FEB 28TH, SAN JOSE, CA (I’d be doing the 10k don’t get crazy)

We’ll see, I have an 8k and a 10k in March so I would probably only do one race in Feb so I can make sure my mileage is where it needs to be if I did the Livermore half…hypothetically of course.

Alright, kiddies, let’s try and get ready for Monday. I don’t know about you but I certainly expect the Monday ass beating that follows so much vacay. Hope your Turkey Day was filled with love and stuffing….and booze.

Besos,
lbg

4 thoughts on “All I Want For Sunday Is a Decent Run and other tales from Lake Merritt

  1. Despite all the reasons not to, you still did! Bravo!
    Dog attack?! Sheez! Lucky no serious damage(except to nerves- you’re gonna look twice at all dogs now).
    The run events? Book them all – so motivating!
    Skinny Jeans Mum

    • Amanda, I have been loving all your Black Friday & Cyber Monday ish but I really want you to do a post on what to get the men in your life!! I’m the worst when it comes to shopping for the boys and would love for you to use your super shopper skillz! XOX

Leave a Reply

