Broke Runners Unite!

It’s been a while, Interwebbies, sadly work calls and someone has to attempt to pay the bills around here. It’s a pathetic attempt but I am doing my best avoid the poor house dance. Seriously, money and budgeting are not this little brown girl’s skill set. I’m going to be 34 next month and I’m starting to really feel the pressure to get my financial life in order. Any tips, books, or blogs that helped you hit your financial stride? Post some recommendations because this lbg could really use them!!

POOR

In other non-sad bastard news, I did my first double digit run of the season!!! I ran 10 miles this Saturday and had my first negative split!!!! This is in large part due to the fact that I actually ran with some strategy as opposed to my usually just running. I read an article discussing marathon training and phasing parts of your run…I’m doing a horrible job explaining. Just go here: yes here. I mean, don’t get it twisted, I love running and being outside, and for me there’s almost something meditative about it. My musica, my thoughts, my body all kinda blend and it works for me. However with all this marathon talk and reading….because I’m a nerd and need to read about ish, I’ve realized you probably shouldn’t just try and run a marathon. Actually strategy should be employed to help your body out. Who knew?

downton1

Right now, I’m just going to focus on getting to the Livermore Half and after that race I’ll be employing a training plan with some small modifications. I’m a little nervous about running 4 days a week, truth be told. I figure I’ll manage but eek…small eek.

Last week looked a little something like this:

M – 3.3 miles complimented by yoga & weights
TH – 5.1 miles
SA – 10 mile run!!!

Screen Shot 2015-01-28 at 9.49.52 AM

This weekend, I will be headed to Mill Valley for a friend’s wedding and I’m super excited for a chance to have mini getaway with my bf. It should be super pretty although chilly this weekend.  We’ll be near Muir Woods so I’m hoping on Sunday to do a little wandering and enjoy all the nature. City girls love nature, I just don’t know if I could live in it but visiting is always nice. I will probably run on Saturday before the wedding because ya know….hungover running is not winning. Although I am attempting to not be hungover just to have the perfect wedding buzz the night before with no side effects right??
Liz-Lemon-gif

Oh yeah, I lost 2.5 lbs last week! Hooraz but this weekend there was brunch and we went a little crazy plus there’s been healthy takeout but take out none the less. The boyfriend and I are both putting in a lot of hours at this time of year which means no one wants to cook. We exchange the sad glances of no..I don’t have that kind of strength to cook and clean…and actually the kitchen is still dirty…yes, please call the Thai place. BLARGH, so not good for the waist line and don’t forget I want my waist line to look good in Hawaii!

20140130-092653.jpg

Alright peeps, I’m out. Have a kick ass Tuesday and if it’s not kicking ass just add more coffee. You got this!

Besos,
lbg

Leave a Reply

