34 Stories of running, empty pockets, and April showers

Being 34 is exhausting. I have a strong feeling it has to do with all the drinking, eating out, and socializing that came with my birthday. Somehow I can’t seem to catch up on my sleep and running this week has been nil. I mean the last birthday happy hour was Monday and I think I’m focused on fully recovering at this point.

Sunday was the She Is Beautiful 10k in Santa Cruz and I ran a solid 55 minute race, holla! It drizzled a little during the race but it felt so refreshing and gave me a little boost as I ran through Natural Bridges. The race was sold out and it definitely felt that way, the shuttles arrived late/moved slowly, and I was unable to make it into my time corral. Despite all this I still had a really good time. It was overcast but still such a great day to be near the ocean. I love being at the beach and running, I mean c’mon just add wine and you’ve got perfection. I’ve run this race 4 years now and I have to say I do miss the smaller feel of the first years but it’s still a lot of fun. The energy is so positive and everyone is really friendly. The theme of embracing your own beauty permeates throughout the entire race. It’s a great race for first timers, walkers, and families. The post race festival was beyond over crowded so we grabbed our shirts and headed back to our hotel.

13762_10206308862578221_7783032676791936980_n

photo 2-2photo 3-2

May feels right around the corner with my trip to Hawaii for my homegirl’s wedding, soon July will be here, and I will be headed to Budapest for another wedding. It’s so exciting but stresses me out a bit too since financially I’m in such a shaky place. For Hawaii, I’ve paid for my ticket and my hotel which is great. I just need to work out a budget for while I’m there. For Budapest I have about of a third of the ticket cost saved but I’m going to throw a chunk into savings with my April paycheck so that we should be able to buy our tickets in May.

I need to really work on my financial security, 34 make me feel like 40 is around the corner, and I would like to be able to retire someday. I was out for jury duty during the Spring Retirement Session but I’m fully planning on attending the Fall session so I can see where I’m at and what I need to be contributing moving forward for my future old lady adventures.

Between my student loans and credit card debt, I feel a little crushed. Having the two weddings this year really hurt my credit card pay down plans although I haven’t added to that debt so small victories. I just need to sit down with my boyfriend and review my budget and our living expenses. I love where we live but we pay a ton in rent and I don’t know if the second bedroom/office was the best investment since he uses it less than anticipated. I don’t know….I just know that I need some help because clearly the choices I’m making on my own financially are not making sense.

Oh yeah and I dropped my phone pretty badly in Santa Cruz. It’s holding on but that’s another cash money purchase that will need to be upcoming. I did not mean for this post to be a broke ass thirty something entry but there you have it. I mean if you can’t be a financial sad bastard on your own blog where can you??

POOR

2015 the theme word was INSPIRED and my action item is appearing to be to ask for HELP.

 Basically I’m Sandra Bullock in 28 days. I heart her.

SANDRA

April is the get serious month, peeps. We’re bringing the fitness and healthy food back with a vengeance. We will be in Hawaii swimsuit countdown and I want to look and feel good….I say this as I eat mac and cheese. I’m drinking water at least. Thank baby Jesus for that much. I also will be getting serious with my Marathon training – LOOK OUT!!!! Let’s set up some April Goooaalllss!!!

APRIL GOALS

  • DRINK ALL THE WATER!
  • Run 3- 4 times a week
  • Plank for core strength – goal 20 out of 30 days this month!
  • Stay within my budget!!! Just say NO to spending
  • Work on cleaning out my clothes closet
  • Bring my lunch to work also known as saving money!!!
  • Read a book

I’m serious here, kids. It’s time to put the two week long birthday celebrating behind us and get back to reality. I’m considering a sugar detox to help with the eating and hopefully the race this Saturday will be perfect for a Marathon Kickoff!!!

I’m heading to Livermore on Friday for the race expo!!! So excited and did I mention there’s wine tasting!!!!??? 13.1 tastings to be exact. Isn’t that clever.

Alright my peeps, it’s time for me to call it a night and tackle some chores.

Besos,
lbg

Leave a Reply

