Run Livermore, Drink Wine, and Treat Yo’self

Livermore Half Completed!!!!

This course was beautiful even with those two surprise hills between miles seven and nine. I think my outfit choice was bad and not fitting given the weather but we’ll get to that later.  First a few photos of the race to entice you to run it next year!!! photo 1 I apologize for my poor photo taking skills on my hella sad iphone 4. The morning was cool which is always great for a race. You can kinda see the banner for the race in the shot above. The race starts and ends in downtown Livermore which is super cute and quaint. I’m really having a hard time figuring out how to dress as I run longer distances. I REALLY hate being cold and shivering my butt off before a race but I’m slowly realizing you have to suck it up butter cup and do it. Otherwise you end up full on sweat monster. Despite my 5 foot nothing status, I sweat like a man. I just hate shivering 30 minutes before a race…it pains me but sigh, guess I need to get over it.

photo 2

Here we are as we slowly move out of downtown and the suburbs and into the trails and wine country.

photo 1 copy

photo 2 copy

I wish my photos came out better but you can see the vineyards and rolling hills. It was super beautiful.

photo 1 copy 2

My awesome medal with removal straps so you can have a coaster to commemorate your race success!

photo 2 copy 2

We also received this fabulous little stemless wineglass for post race wine tasting! It was actual glass which did lead to a lot of glass breaking in the wine tasting area. That’s what happens when a bunch of possibly dehydrated runners start drinking 🙂 Not gonna lie, I can’t wait to drink from this bad boy at home and feel hella accomplished!

2 HOURS AND SIX MINUTES! GO ME!

(I had to use the ladies on the course which added 2 minutes – bummer – but given the hills and that, I’m stoked with my time. Oh yeah and basically taking the past two weeks off for “Random Birthday Activities.”)

photo 3 copy 2

You can see the wine tasting festival tents in the background there. All the good kids are stretching. I was drinking water and chopping on a banana.

photo 2 copy 3It was super hot after the race and I decided on a little BBQ and a beer to celebrate my race! Hooraz!

This was a super beautiful course and I will probably do it again next year if I don’t succumb to the San Francisco Rock N Roll Half.  I only have two runs planned for this week since it’s my “recovery week” and on April 6th my official San Francisco Marathon training begins!!! I have several plans saved on pinterest but need to sit down and actually come up with something useable/feasible. I’m really nervous about fueling, to carry or not carry water, and getting a running belt for all this crap. I feel like when you go from half to full, shiz starts getting real.

Alright kids, I hope you had a great weekend and Monday isn’t too hectic.

Sending much love and besos,

lbg

One thought on “Run Livermore, Drink Wine, and Treat Yo’self

Leave a Reply

